(TO BE PUBLISHED IN THE GAZETTE OF INDIA, EXTRA-ORDINARY, PART I, SECTION 1)

GOVERNMENT OF INDIA MINISTRY OF ROAD TRANSPORT AND HIGHWAYS

NOTIFICATION

New Delhi, 02nd March, 2016

A Group of Ministers is hereby constituted to examine the best practices in road safety and road transport sector and to suggest actionable points for implementation. The Group will be headed by Shri Yoonus Khan, Hon'ble Minister for Public Works Department and Transport, Government of Rajasthan and will initially comprise of:

- 1. Shri Sidda Raghava Rao, Hon'ble Minister for Transport, Roads and Buildings, Government of Andhra Pradesh;
- 2. Shri Chandrika Ray, Hon'ble Minister for Transport, Government of Bihar;
- 3. Shri Ramkrishna alias Sudin Dhavalikar, Hon'ble Minister for Public Works Department, River Navigation and Transport, Government of Goa;
- 4. Shri Ramalinga Reddy, Hon'ble Minister for Transport, Government of Karnataka;
- 5. Shri Diwakar Narayan Raote, Hon'ble Minister for Transport, Government of Maharashtra;
- 6. Shri John Rotluangliana, Hon'ble Minister for Transport, Government of Mizoram;
- 7. Shri Ramesh Chandra Majhi, Hon'ble Minister for Transport, Government of Odisha;

2. Joint Secretary (Transport), Ministry of Road Transport & Highways will assist the Group of Ministers. Ministers of other states would be made members after ascertaining their kind convenience.

3. The Group of Ministers will be assisted by the Officers of their respective States in addition to the following Officers:

- 1. Shri Pawan Kumar Goyal, Principal Secretary & Transport Commissioner, Govt. of Rajasthan;
- 2. Shri Alapan Bandopadhyay, Principal Secretary (Transport), Government of West Bengal;
- 3. Shri Kamal Dayani, Transport Commissioner, Government of Gujarat ;
- 4. Shri Tomin Thachankary, Transport Commissioner, Government of Kerala.

The Chairman, Group of Ministers will be free to co-opt Ministers from other States as Members depending upon their willingness. Group of Ministers can also seek assistance from Officers of any other State/ agency for getting technical support. It can discuss with the various stakeholders in the road transport sector on all relevant issues.

- 4. The terms of reference of the Group of Ministers shall be as under:
 - a To assist the National Road Safety Council in performance of the functions assigned to it;

- b To advise the Hon'ble Minister for Road Transport, Highways and Shipping on :
 - a) To frame a National Road Safety Code with the aim to reduce fatalities and road accidents by 50% in next five years
 - b) Improving public transport in the States with enhanced customer experience;
 - c) Strategies for incorporating technology for assessment for driving licenses, vehicle fitness assessment;
 - d) Improving public service delivery in respect of driving licenses, transfer of personal vehicles, NOC for driving licenses;
 - e) Standardization of accident investigation and reporting mechanism,
 - f) Policy changes and implementation strategies for strengthening State Road Transport Undertakings;
 - g) Improving public transport in the States to enhance customer experience ;
 - h) Strategies for improving the ease of transport for all the stakeholders;
 - i) Transfer of old personal vehicle from one State to another;
 - j) Strengthening Bus National Permit System and Truck National Permit System;
 - k) Standardising the Road Conditioning audit systems and suggest improvements in road engineering;
 - 1) Road side infrastructure to improve safety of vulnerable users;
 - m) Capacity building in road safety;
 - n) Improvements in emergency trauma care facilities.
 - o) Any other matter that the Ministry of Road Transport & Highways may choose to request the Group to examine and consider.

The Committee will meet at least once in a quarter or at such frequency as it may decide. The Committee shall submit its first report by 15th May 2016. The frequency of subsequent reports may be decided by the Group in consultation with the Hon'ble Union Minister for Road Transport, Highways and Shipping.

(ABHAY DAMLE) JOINT SECRETARY TO THE GOVT. OF INDIA {No. RT-25028/01/2016-RS}